翻译

服务 28 年:西奈寺食品项目主任退休

FIND 首席执行官黛比·埃斯皮诺萨 (Debbie Espinosa) 与西奈圣殿 (Temple Sinai) 食品配送项目的项目主管 Gail 和 Saul Jacobs 坐了下来。这对 28 年前帮助制定该计划的夫妇分享了他们志愿工作的意义,以及与 FIND 的合作如何帮助他们为社区服务。

Gail:我们于 1990 年加入 Temple Sinai。我们提前退休并周游世界。我们回来时仍然 50 多岁,我们想做一些重要的事情。我们的犹太传统谈到一种叫做 Tikun Olam 的东西,意思是修复世界。那是我们认为将是一个很好的方式来做到这一点。尽管人们对我们将食物带给棕榈泉有需要的人感到非常惊讶,因为人们认为每个人都在棕榈泉富有。但当然,我们知道那不是真的。

扫罗,当盖尔说她想开始一个食品项目时,你说了什么?

索尔:我说,这是个好主意,因为我们不打网球,也不打高尔夫球,我们想做一些有益于社区的事情。这是一个我认为是个好主意的主意。

盖尔,当你把你的想法带到坦普尔时,他们对食物计划有什么看法?

盖尔:嗯,实际上,我们有一个所谓的“居民学者”来寺庙度周末。他的名字是丹尼·西格尔,他被称为成人礼。 Mitzvah 被粗略地翻译为善行,它的真正意思是诫命。他给我们的寺庙社区带来了为社会行动做一些事情的想法,这就是让我开始的原因。所以他们是对的,他们已经准备好进行一个项目。与此同时,一个名叫乔·贝拉茨基的人来到了寺庙,他想开始一项食品项目,因为他年轻时就饿死了。他想做点什么,但他需要有人为他组织起来。这是一场完美的比赛。

完美的。你是哪一年开始饮食计划的?

盖尔:我们在 1993 年开始了食品计划。当时,我们实际上是人们来获取食物的地方。我们这样做了大约一年半,然后我们意识到这真的不是我们需要做的最好的事情。我们意识到有一群人无法到达食物银行,他们需要将食物送到他们手中。所以我们从大教堂城的一个免费地点送货。然后我们的位置被卖掉了,它不再是一个免费的位置。我们必须找到一个新家,而且我们离 FIND 不远了。所以我们去了FIND并询问我们是否可以加入他们。然后出现了问题。他会告诉你这个问题。

索尔:我是一个问题解决者。盖尔说,去和韦恩·罗伯逊谈谈。我做到了。与他长时间交谈后,他安排了我们。当时他们的人数有限,但他把我们作为 FIND 的犹太部门。这就是他如何让我们进入 FIND 作为 FIND 的辅助工具。他在圣巴勃罗设立了一个空间,我们可以在那里放置食物、打包、分类和交付。我们就是这样开始的。

扫罗,在你开始工作的时候,你第一个月为多少家庭送货?

盖尔:所以实际上问题是我们和 FIND 在同一个邮政编码。美国农业部显然有一个限制,即可以运营的具有相同邮政编码的组织数量。我认为这就是问题所在。我们开始时我会想象,实际上乔说他知道他有一个 130 袋的清单,但我们可能大约有 80 或 90 袋。现在,多年来,我们一直在做 150 袋。我们发现 150 个是我们可以打包的数量,我们可以分类,我们可以与我们的志愿者一起交付。

你在大教堂城的日子里在那里吗?

扫罗:是的,在火之前。

告诉我你对火灾发生的情况的看法。

索尔:嗯,我只知道火灾让我们破产了。有一段时间我们不得不安排租用空间来继续我们的项目。

让我们谈谈您所服务的家庭和志愿者。你现在有多少志愿者?

盖尔:每周二早上七点,大约有10名志愿者出现在这里,这是大流行之前,并打包了150个预先标记的袋子。然后他们走上了七条不同的路线。一些包装工做路线,我们有一些人只送货,这是一个完整的混合包。但是每个星期二,我们都会拿出 150 个袋子,大约有 130 个家庭。

好吧,Saul,当你和志愿者谈论这个项目以及这个项目对他们的意义时,他们分享了哪些关于他们为什么想做志愿者以及这让他们有什么感受的事情?

Saul:我想他们都和我们有同样的感受,他们想为社区做点什么。而他们中的每一个人,几乎都变成了一家人。包装工们一起玩得很开心。他们都想为社区做点什么,即使我们所做的改变了,他们仍然这样做,每隔一个星期二来一次。我们仍然与所有包装工和送货员举行缩放会议,每个人仍然对帮助社区有很好的感觉。

好的。当您与家人交谈时,他们的家人对您说该计划对他们的意义是什么?

盖尔:现在我们带来了美国农业部的食品。实际上,我告诉 Hulsey USDA 女士食物只是干粮,实际上,我的一些志愿者正在抱怨,因为他们觉得我们没有提供人们真正喜欢的食物。我和我在这里的所有联系人进行了交谈,你们能够让我们生产。现在每隔一个星期二,我们的志愿者就会带来一袋主食和一袋新鲜农产品。

Saul:但是为了回答你的问题,我们有很多人打电话来感谢我们的帮助。他们中的一些人说你知道,他们生活和帮助就足够了。大多数时候,我会说 99.9% 都很高兴我们能够交付给他们。

盖尔:我认为是 100。我告诉 Hulsey 女士,我们的志愿者实际上交付了两倍的袋子,因为每个客户都会得到两个袋子。在我们继续之前,我和他们核对过,我给他们发了短信,每个人都说这对他们来说很棒。我的投诉为零。他们正在做双倍的工作,但他们很高兴将新鲜农产品带给我们的客户,这根本不是问题。

我们来谈谈FIND和你的程序之间的关系。对于您分发的食物,FIND 是有用的还是好的合作伙伴?

Saul:我认为如果没有 FIND 的帮助,我们就不可能存在。

盖尔:不,你是我们的首选之地,一旦他们都解决了这个问题,除了韦恩罗宾逊的合作之外,我们从未有过任何合作,对你,以及一路上的人们。每个人一直都很乐于助人。

“我们只能作为 FIND 的合作机构来做到这一点。 28 年来,我们每周交付 150 件行李,这一切都归功于 FIND。”

Gail Jacobs,Temple Sinai 食品项目总监

节目中你最喜欢的记忆是什么?

盖尔:我想也许是回忆。我认为 FIND 人员是因为我与一些长期存在的人建立了非常好的关系,并且一直知道我可以指望 FIND 支持我。实际上,这些年来我们唯一一次无法交付的实际上是两次。有一次,当您铺好街道而没有人能够进入时。 有一次在大流行的第一周,65 岁以上的人无法进入仓库,当然,这基本上消灭了我们所有人。我认为,事实上,我们能够拿出食物,食物显然是重点,但是为了能够与 FIND 人员一起做到这一点,每个人总是对我们有帮助,对我们做出回应,并感谢你很喜欢。

Saul,你最喜欢的节目记忆?

索尔:完全一样。你知道,周二我总是很喜欢威利,那时我会看到他带着他的起重机进来拿东西。现在我们与 FIND 的关系非常好,我们希望继续与我们的新主管合作。我们与 FIND 的关系非常出色。盖尔所说的一切都与我想说的一样。

本次采访由 FIND 首席执行官黛比·埃斯皮诺萨 (Debbie Espinosa) 于 2021 年 10 月 5 日星期二与 Temple Sinai 的 Gail 和 Saul Jacobs 进行。为了简洁和清晰,对采访记录进行了编辑和压缩。

Translate

28 Years of Service: Temple Sinai Food Program Directors Retire

FIND CEO Debbie Espinosa sat down with Gail and Saul Jacobs, the Program Directors of the food delivery program at Temple Sinai. The couple who helped develop the program over 28 years ago share the meaning of their volunteer work and how the partnership with FIND helped them serve their community.

Gail: We joined Temple Sinai in 1990. We took an early retirement and went around the world. We came back we were still in our 50s, and we wanted to do something that was important. Our Jewish tradition talks about something called Tikun Olam, which means to repair the world. That was the way we thought would be a good way to do it. Even though people were very surprised that we were going to bring food to needy people in Palm Springs because people think that everybody is rich in Palm Springs. But of course, we know that that’s not true.

Saul, when Gail said she wanted to start a food program, what did you say?

Saul: I said, it’s a great idea because we don’t play tennis, and we don’t golf, and we wanted to do things that would benefit the community. And that was one idea that I thought was a great idea.

Gail, when you brought your idea to Temple, what did they say about the food program?

Gail: Well, we had actually, we had what we call a Scholar of Residents come to the temple for a weekend. His name was Danny Siegel, and he’s called the Mitzvah Man. Mitzvah is loosely translated as a good deed, it really means commandment. He brought the idea of doing something for social action to our temple community, and that’s what got me started So they were right, they were ready for a project. Simultaneously, a man named Joe Berlatsky had come to the temple, he wanted to start a food project because he had starved when he was a young boy. He wanted to do something, but he needed somebody to organize it for him. It was a perfect match.

Perfect. What year did you start the food program?

Gail: We started the food program in 1993. At that time, we were actually a place where people came to get food. We did that for about a year and a half, and then we realized that that really wasn’t the best thing that we needed to do. We realized that there was a community of people who couldn’t get to the food bank, and they needed to have food delivered to them. So we were delivering out of a free location in Cathedral City. Then our location got sold and it was no longer a free location. We had to find a new home, and we were not too far from FIND. So we went to FIND and asked if we could join them. Then there was a problem. He’ll tell you about the problem.

Saul: I’m a problem solver. Gail said, go talk to Wayne Robertson. And I did. After having a long conversation with him, he set us up. At the time they were limited to the amount of people they could have, but he put us in as a kosher division of FIND. That’s how he got us into FIND as an auxiliary to FIND. He set up on San Pablo a space where we could put our food in and pack it and sort it and deliver it. That’s how we started.

Saul, at the time that you started, how many households were you delivering to for that first month?

Gail: So actually the problem was we were in the same zip code as FIND. There was apparently a limitation by USDA, the numbers of organizations with the same zip code that could operate. I think that was the problem. We started with I would imagine, actually Joe said he knew he had a list of 130, but we were probably about 80 or 90. Now, for many years, we’ve been doing 150 bags. And we find that 150 is how many we can pack, and we can sort, and we can deliver with our volunteer staff.

You were there during the Cathedral City days?

Saul: Yes, before the fire.

Give me your version of what happened with the fire.

Saul: Well, all I know is the fire put us out of business. There was a period of time that we had to make arrangements to rent space to continue our project.

Let’s talk about the families that you serve and the volunteers. How many volunteers do you have now?

Gail: Every Tuesday morning at seven o’clock, about 10 volunteers show up here, this is before the pandemic, and packed 150 bags that were pre-marked. And then they went out on seven different routes. Some of the packers did routes, we had some people who only delivered, it was a whole mixed bag. But every Tuesday, we got out 150 bags, and that’s about 130 families.

Alright, Saul, when you talk to the volunteers about the program and the meaning of the program to them, what are some of the things that they shared about why they wanted to volunteer and how it made them feel?

Saul: I think they all felt the same way that we did, that they wanted to give something to the community. And every one of them it almost became like a family. The packers all had fun together. They all wanted to do something for the community, and they still do even with the change of what we’ve done, coming every other Tuesday. We still have zoom meetings with all the people that were packers and deliverers and everybody still has such a good feeling about helping the community.

Okay. When you’ve talked to the families, what have the families said to you about the meaning of the program to them?

Gail: Right now we’re bringing USDA Food. Actually, I was telling Ms. Hulsey USDA Food was just dry food, and actually, some of my volunteers were complaining because they felt that we were not giving food that people were really enjoying. And I spoke to all my contacts here, and you were able to get us produce. Now every other Tuesday, our volunteers bring a bag of staples and a bag of fresh produce.

Saul: But to answer your question, we have a lot of people that call up and thank us for helping. Some of them say that you know, it’s enough for them to live and assist. Most of the time, I would say 99.9% are all happy that we’ve been able to deliver to them.

Gail: I think 100. I was telling Ms. Hulsey that our volunteers actually deliver twice as many bags because each client gets two bags. Before we went ahead with it, I checked with them I texted them and everybody said it was great for them. I have zero complaints. They’re doing double the work, but they’re so happy to be bringing the fresh produce to our clients that it’s not a problem at all.

Let’s talk about the relationship between FIND and your program. For the food that you’re distributing, has FIND been instrumental or a good partner?

Saul: I don’t think we could exist without FIND’s help.

Gail: No, you are our go-to place and we have never had anything but cooperation from Wayne Robinson once they all got that settled, to you, and people all along the way. Everybody has always been helpful.

“We’re only able to do it as partner agencies of FIND. We’ve been delivering 150 bags every week for 28 years, and it’s only because of FIND.”

Gail Jacobs, Temple Sinai Food Program Director

What’s your favorite memory from the program?

Gail: I think maybe memories. I think FIND personnel because I’ve developed really wonderful relationships with some of the long-standing people and have always known that I could count on FIND to have my back. Actually, the only times that we weren’t able to deliver all these years was actually two times. Once when you had your street paved and no one had the ability to get in. And once the first week of the pandemic when no one over 65 could go into the warehouse and that, of course, eliminated basically all of us. I think that truthfully the fact that we were able to get out the food, and the food is obviously the salient point, but to be able to do it with the FIND personnel, everybody’s always been available to us, responsive to us, and thank you very much.

Saul, your favorite memory from the program?

Saul: It’s exactly the same. You know, I always enjoyed Willie on Tuesday when I would see him with his hoist coming in and taking things. Now the relationship we’ve had with FIND has been outstanding and we hope to continue with our new director. The relationship we have with FIND is outstanding. Everything Gail has said is the same thing I would say.

This interview was conducted by FIND CEO Debbie Espinosa with Gail and Saul Jacobs of Temple Sinai on Tuesday, October 5, 2021. The interview transcription has been edited and condensed for brevity and clarity.