翻译

保留我们拉丁裔邻居的祖传食谱

9月30日 | 精选

2021 年 9 月 23 日

经过 保罗·莫雷洛

喂养美国的博客

食物和家庭往往是分不开的。食谱代代相传。学习祖母的“秘密”成分到她最喜欢的食谱中成为一种成年礼和一种荣誉。然后,几年后,这个食谱发生了变化并传给了下一代。

在我家,我祖母的“意大利面carbonara”是全家人的最爱,但没有食谱。她教我妈妈如何制作,然后我妈妈教我。许多其他家庭也是如此。通常,除了纸屑或家庭记忆之外,其他任何地方都不会记录特殊的家庭食谱。到目前为止。

最近, 寻找食物银行 在加利福尼亚州的一本社区食谱中记录了这些家庭食谱,重点是拉丁裔社区的食物。

“该项目以家庭为导向,”食品银行社区影响总监洛雷娜·马罗昆 (Lorena Marroquin) 说。 “人们谈论他们如何留下遗产,如何为社区留下一些东西。所以如果你能做一些你祖母做的东西,它就会变得更加特别。他们分享了它,它是继续存在的遗产的一部分。”

食品银行与当地拉丁裔组织合作。他们询问社区成员他们喜欢为家人烹饪哪些食谱,以及他们从家人那里学到的食谱。

“祖先食谱”食谱的摘录,以 atapakua 为特色

这本书的标题恰如其分地命名为“祖传食谱:从我祖母的厨房到你的厨房”。出版于 英语  西班牙语,它包括从着名菜肴如huevos rancheros到您可能不太熟悉的菜肴,如墨西哥蔬菜炖菜atapakua。

但这不是典型的食谱,Lorena 解释说。相反,食物银行在每个食谱中都包含建议以鼓励健康饮食。

“我们正在加入水果和蔬菜,使用全麦食品和更健康的油,并在食谱中适度使用。它们很简单,微小的变化可以产生很大的不同,”她说。

食品银行在社交媒体上举办现场烹饪示范,以突出书中的食谱。他们还会尽可能将分发的食物与食谱配对,因此收到食物的人对他们可以烹饪的食物有自己的想法。

“我们如何为社区提供这种教育,以及他们想要参与的东西?”洛雷娜说。 “根据我的经验,西班牙裔社区想要健康饮食,但无法获得营养教育。”

但是这本食谱不仅仅是教育。这也是一个时间胶囊。这是几代拉丁裔家庭食谱的记录,并在未来几年保留了这些祖传食谱。

“它把社区聚集在一起,”洛雷娜说。 “这真是太值得观看了。”

Translate

Preserving the ancestral recipes of our Latino neighbors

September 30 | Featured

September 23, 2021

by Paul Morello

Blog by Feeding America

Food and family are often inseparable. Recipes are passed down from generation to generation. It becomes a rite of passage and an honor to learn grandma’s “secret” ingredient to her favorite recipe. Then, years later, that recipe changed and passed down to the next generation.

In my family, my grandmother’s “pasta carbonara” was a family favorite but there was no recipe. She taught my mother how to make it, and then my mom taught me. And that’s the case for many other families, too. Often, special family recipes aren’t captured anywhere except on scraps of paper or in family memories. Until now.

Recently, FIND Food Bank in California captured those family recipes in a community cookbook focusing on food from the Latino communities.

“The project is family-oriented,” said Lorena Marroquin, the food bank’s director of community impact. “People talk about how they leave a legacy, how they leave something behind for the community. So if you can cook something your grandmother made, it becomes that much more special. They shared it, and it’s part of the legacy that lives on.”

The food bank partnered with local Latino organizations.  They asked community members what recipes they liked cooking for their families, and what recipes they were taught from families.

An excerpt of the “Ancestral Recipes” cookbook, featuring atapakua

The book is aptly titled “Ancestral Recipes: From My Grandmother’s Kitchen to Yours.” Published in English and Spanish, it includes everything from well-known dishes like huevos rancheros to dishes you may be less familiar with, like atapakua, a Mexican vegetable stew.

But this isn’t your typical cookbook, Lorena explains. Instead, the food bank includes suggestions in each recipe to encourage healthy eating.

“We’re incorporating fruit and veggies, using whole grain items and healthier oils, and using moderation in recipes. They’re simple, small changes that can make a big difference,” she said.

The food bank hosts live cooking demonstrations on social media to highlight recipes in the book. They also pair the food they distribute to recipes whenever possible, so people receiving food have ideas for what they can cook.

“How do we make this educational for the community, but also something that they’d want to engage with?” said Lorena. “In my experience, the Hispanic community wants to eat healthily but doesn’t have access to nutrition education.”

But the cookbook does more than educate. It’s also a time capsule. It’s a record of generations of Latino family recipes and preserves those ancestral recipes for years to come.

“It brings the community together,” Lorena said. “And that’s been so rewarding to watch.”