翻译

国家助学金 $10,000-per-student for College in Exchange for Public Service

1月19日 | 新闻稿

2022 年 1 月 18 日
与 FIND 食品银行的志愿者计划为当地学生创造机会

想要查询更多的信息:
杰西卡恩德斯,760.848.8230
机构发展和公共信息官的临时执行董事

 

沙漠学院与 FIND 食品银行、当地非营利组织 OneFuture Coachella Valley 和成长内陆成就合作,为服务一年社区服务的学生提供高达 $10,000 的有偿奖学金和奖学金,部分在全州范围内开展更大规模的努力,以创造一条无债务的高等教育途径。

 

学院申请并获得了国家拨款,旨在让学生参与有意义的服务机会,以解决社区中的问题、教授关键技能并减少学生债务。

 

“这是一个非常宝贵的机会!这笔赠款使沙漠学院能够在经济上支持我们的学生,同时向他们传授服务的价值并创造回馈社区的途径,”教育学博士/校长玛莎加西亚说。 “公共服务,就像大学一样,有可能帮助人们在世界上找到自己的位置和目标。”

 

沙漠学院是 45 所大学和学院之一,也是 18 所社区学院之一,在全州范围内被选中参加加州人参加所有大学军团,这是州长加文·纽森办公室的首个此类计划,旨在帮助学生从大学毕业减少债务,同时培养以服务为中心的领导技能和公民责任感。未来两年,加州约有 6,500 名学生将参与服务学习项目,解决气候变化、K-12 教育、COVID-19 恢复和粮食不安全等问题。沙漠学院的项目合作伙伴关系将专注于缓解科切拉谷的粮食不安全问题。

 

在 FIND Food Bank 和整个学年的计划中投入 450 小时的学生将获得 $7,000 并有资格获得 $3,000 奖学金以进入沙漠学院。志愿者机会包括试点校园超市和 FIND 的移动食品储藏室和配送中心。

 

FIND Food Bank 在沙漠地区的 150 多个配送点每月为大约 150,000 人提供食物。 2019 年,沙漠学院的学生通过其他项目志愿服务,为 FIND 的每月流动食品储藏室配备人员,在四个校园地点为超过 22,000 名学生和科切拉谷居民提供约 232,000 磅的食物。

 

“每天,FIND 都在帮助解决我们地区紧迫的粮食不安全和不平等问题,”FIND 食品银行总裁兼首席执行官黛比埃斯皮诺萨说。 “与这个项目合作将培养一批未来的领导者,帮助我们实现解决生命饥饿的使命。”

 

该计划面向符合 AB 540 资格的梦想家以及沙漠学院和当地学区或 OneFuture Coachella Valley 的兼职和全日制学生开放。除了其他学生资助外,还可以获得支付的奖学金和奖学金,包括目前为沙漠学院春季学期提供的每学分 $100 的赠款、提供两年免费学费的 plEDGE 计划以及加州和佩尔助学金。

 

学院将在 2022-2023 学年提供 50 个奖学金,在 2023-2024 学年提供 50 个奖学金;每年一半的可用名额将保留给 OneFuture 的学生和在学区从事双录取计划的学生。这笔钱将支付每单位 $46 的学费,加上杂费、书籍、用品和一些生活费;全日制课程负荷为每学期 12 个学分或 $552。

 

该计划代表了对科切拉谷的 $180 万投资,这是一个加强区域合作伙伴关系和扩大缓解粮食不安全的机会,这是许多社区大学生完成学业的障碍。

 

更多信息可在线访问collegeofthedesert.edu 和californiavolunteers.ca.gov/californiansforall-college-corps。

Translate

State Grant Funds $10,000-per-student for College in Exchange for Public Service

January 19 | Press Releases

January 18, 2022
Volunteer program with FIND Food Bank creates opportunities for local students

For more information:
Jessica Enders, 760.848.8230
Interim Executive Director of Institutional Advancement and Public Information Officer

 

College of the Desert is partnering with FIND Food Bank, OneFuture Coachella Valley, a local non-profit organization, and Growing Inland Achievement, to offer up to $10,000 in paid fellowships and scholarships to students who serve a year of community service, part of a larger statewide effort to create a debt-free path to higher education.

 

The College applied for and was awarded a state grant designed to engage students in meaningful service opportunities to solve problems in their communities, teach key skills, and reduce student debt.

 

“This is an incredibly valuable opportunity! This grant enables College of the Desert the ability to support our students financially, while teaching them the value of service and creating a pathway to give back to our community,” said Superintendent/President Martha Garcia, Ed.D. “Public service, like college, has the potential to help people find their place and purpose in the world.”

 

College of the Desert is one of 45 universities and colleges, and one of 18 community colleges, selected statewide to participate in Californians for All College Corps, a first-of-its-kind program from Governor Gavin Newsom’s Office to help students graduate from college with less debt while building service-focused leadership skills and a sense of civic responsibility. About 6,500 students across California will be involved in the service-learning project over the next two years, addressing issues such as climate change, K-12 education, COVID-19 recovery, and food insecurity. College of the Desert’s project partnership will focus on mitigating food insecurity issues in the Coachella Valley.

 

Students who invest a total of 450 hours at FIND Food Bank and in the program over the academic year will receive $7,000 and qualify for a $3,000 scholarship to attend College of the Desert. Volunteer opportunities include pilot campus supermarkets and FIND’s mobile food pantries and distribution centers.

 

FIND Food Bank feeds approximately 150,000 people each month at more than 150 distribution sites in the desert region. In 2019, College of the Desert students, volunteering through other programs, staffed FIND’s monthly mobile food pantries to provide more than 22,000 students and Coachella Valley residents with approximately 232,000 pounds of food at four campus locations.

 

“Every day, FIND helps to address the pressing problem of food insecurity and inequities across our region,” said Debbie Espinosa, FIND Food Bank’s President and CEO. “Partnering on this project will create a cadre of future leaders to help us meet our mission of solving hunger for life.”

 

The program is open to AB 540-eligible Dreamers and part-time and full-time students at College of the Desert and local school districts or OneFuture Coachella Valley. The paid fellowship and scholarship money are available in addition to other student aid, including the current grant offer of $100 per unit for College of the Desert’s Spring semester, the plEDGE program, which offers two years of free tuition, and Cal and Pell Grants.

 

The College will offer 50 fellowships in the 2022-2023 school year and 50 for 2023-2024; half of the available spots each year will be reserved for students from OneFuture and those engaged in dual enrollment programs at the school districts. The money will cover the $46-per-unit cost of tuition, plus fees, books, supplies, and some living expenses; a full-time course load is 12 units or $552 per semester.

 

The program represents a $1.8 million investment in the Coachella Valley, an opportunity to enhance regional partnerships and scale efforts to mitigate food insecurity, which is a barrier to completion for many community college students.

 

More information is available online at collegeofthedesert.edu and californiavolunteers.ca.gov/californiansforall-college-corps.