翻译

寻找急需志愿者的食品银行

1月17日 | 精选

詹妮弗佛朗哥

KESQ 周末主播/平日记者

FIND Food Bank 正在呼吁现有的志愿者和那些可能有兴趣报名参加即将举行的分发活动的志愿者。

与许多其他机构一样,最新的 COVID-19 激增给非营利组织的人员配备带来了压力。自 2020 年 3 月以来,陆军国民警卫队一直在帮助将食物送入科切拉谷家庭的食品储藏室,但他们只会在 2022 年 3 月底之前提供帮助。

FIND Food Bank 发展和社区关系经理 Kayleen Sullivan 表示,随着病例激增,“我们的食品线也趋于增长。”需要志愿者支持包装、分类和将食物直接放入需要帮助的人的汽车中。

沙利文说,随着 COVID-19 病例的减少和人们重返工作岗位,夏季获取食物的线路放缓。然而,由于多种因素,最新的病例激增暴露了整个科切拉山谷家庭的粮食不安全状况。沙利文指出,由于“持续的通货膨胀、食品杂货成本的上涨以及加州的生活成本”,线路稳定。她补充说:“我们平均每月为 150,000 人提供食物,这仍然比我们在大流行前服务的人数高出 60%。”

食品银行努力确保 孩子们在假期没有不吃东西,但现在课程已经恢复,对援助的需求仍然很迫切。食物银行今天下午 4:00 至 6:00 在 Thermal 的 Oasis 小学举办了分发活动 投票率表明了对食物援助的迫切需求。该网站的负责人告诉新闻频道 3,他们通常每天为 120 到 130 人提供服务。周五晚上,有 216 人从这个特定地点寻求食物援助。

 

绿洲小学排队等候食物援助的汽车。

当地居民 Humberto Salgado Trujillo 说他经常访问这个网站。 “他们帮了我很多,他们帮了我很多,因为我们没有工作,我们没有工作,所以我们没有钱,”他解释说。他说,他和他的 7 口之家在整个大流行期间一直依赖 FIND 提供的资源。

 

志愿者将食物放入需要帮助的人的车内。

棕榈泉居民 Will Randol 在周四的 FIND 活动中表达了类似的观点。 “食物是一个问题。我们都有食品券和 SNAP,但有时这还不够。因此,能够路过并看到人们帮助其他人真的是一种祝福。所以我们排队问他们是否可以帮助我们,他们很好地答应了,因为我们没有车。我最终卖掉了我的车来帮助支付租金。”

FIND 表示,在 1 月 17 日至 22 日这一周,它即将举办急需支持的志愿者活动。尽管鼓励人们报名参加符合他们日程安排的志愿者活动,但对帮助的需求是不变的。他们也总是接受食物和金钱捐赠。

 

 

此外,FIND 的送货上门计划也有机会。 “假设你是父母,你有孩子,但你不能给他们找保姆,那么我们有 150 名需要外卖的居家客户,”沙利文说。她说,鼓励父母带孩子一起骑行,并可以选择一条方便他们日常生活的路线。 “孩子们还可以建立对参与社区意味着什么的认识,”沙利文补充道。

Find 将在星期一,小马丁路德金纪念日举行全国服务日,因此他们鼓励任何有休息日的人加入志愿者活动。

任何对志愿服务感兴趣的人都应该 登记 为所有事件,以便银行可以有一个准确的计数。如果您对注册有任何疑问,可以致电 760.848.8710。

继续关注新闻频道 3,了解科切拉谷需要立即提供食品援助的情况。

Translate

FIND Food Bank in urgent need of volunteers

January 17 | Featured

Jennifer Franco

KESQ Weekend Anchor/Weekday Reporter

FIND Food Bank is calling on existing volunteers and those who might be interested in signing up to volunteer at upcoming distribution events.

Like many other institutions, the latest COVID-19 surge has put a strain on the non-profits staffing. The Army National Guard has been helping get food into the pantries of Coachella Valley families since March 2020, but they will only be assisting until the end of March 2022.

Kayleen Sullivan, Development and Community Relations Manager at FIND Food Bank, said as cases surge “our food lines also tend to grow.” Volunteers are needed to support packing, sorting, and placing food directly into cars of people in need of assistance.

Sullivan said lines to obtain food slowed down in the summer as COVID-19 cases went down and people went back to work. However, the latest spike in cases is exposing food insecurity in homes across the Coachella Valley due to a number of factors. Sullivan noted lines are steady due to “continued inflation, the rising cost of groceries, and the cost of living in California.” “We’re feeding 150,000 on average every month and that is still 60% higher than how many people we were serving pre-pandemic,” she added.

The food bank worked to ensure children did not go without food during the holiday break, but now that classes have resumed the need for assistance is still dire. The food bank hosted a distribution event at Oasis Elementary School in Thermal today from 4:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. The dire need for food assistance was made evident by the turnout. The site’s director told News Channel 3 on a typical day, they serve between 120 to 130 people. Friday night saw 216 people seek food assistance from this particular site.

 

Line of cars waiting for food assistance at Oasis Elementary School.

One local resident, Humberto Salgado Trujillo, said he frequently visits this site. “They help me a lot, they help me a lot because we don’t have no job, we’re not working so we don’t have no money,” he explained. He said he and his family of 7 have relied on the resources offered by FIND throughout the pandemic.

 

Volunteer putting food in the car of someone in need of assistance.

Palm Springs resident Will Randol expressed similar sentiments at a FIND event on Thursday. “Food is kind of an issue. We both have food stamps and SNAP, but it just isn’t enough sometimes. So the ability to walk by and see people helping everybody else out was really a blessing. So we got in line and asked if they could help us out and they were nice enough to say yes because we don’t have a car. I ended up selling my car to help pay rent.”

FIND said it has upcoming volunteer events that are in urgent need of support the week of January 17-22. Although people are encouraged to sign up for volunteer events that fit with their schedules, the need for help is constant. They are also always accepting food and monetary donations.

 

 

Additionally, FIND has opportunities with its homebound delivery program. “Let’s say you are a parent and you have kids and you can’t get them a babysitter, well we have 150 homebound clients that are in need of food deliveries,” said Sullivan. She said parents are encouraged to bring their children along for the ride and can choose a route that is convenient for their routine. “Kids can also build awareness of what it means to get involved with the community,” Sullivan added.

Find is holding a National Day of Service on Monday, Martin Luther King Jr. Day, so they encourage anyone who has the day off to join in volunteer efforts.

Anyone interested in volunteering should register for all events so the bank can have an accurate count. If you have any questions about registration you can call 760.848.8710.

Stay with News Channel 3 for continuing updates on where the need for immediate food assistance stands in the Coachella Valley.