翻译

MSNBC 的 Reidout 就 FIND 的 COVID-19 测试套件分发采访国会议员 Ruiz

1月17日 | 精选

成绩单:ReidOut,22 年 1 月 13 日

 

嘉宾:玛丽亚·特蕾莎·库马尔、阿里·伯曼、劳尔·鲁伊斯

让我们请来加利福尼亚的国会议员和医生劳尔·鲁伊斯,他从棕榈泉会议中心加入我们,他正在帮助 FIND 食品银行分发 COVID-19 抗原测试。与我们同在的还有美国前代理司法部长尼尔·卡蒂尔(Neal Katyal)。

[19:35:04]

感谢你们俩的光临。

而且,国会议员鲁伊斯,我想从你开始。

谢谢你所做的。我喜欢你正在帮助实际进行测试,因为这是人们迫切需要的。

但是,作为一名医生,作为一名试图代表人民并帮助他们的人,你对最高法院取消这项授权有何看法?

代表。 RAUL RUIZ (D-CA):这没有意义。

从公共卫生的角度来看,它只会伤害我们。只对我们公众的健康和对大公司、企业来说,保证员工的安全是有好处的。他们可以通过确保接种疫苗或接受检测来做到这一点,如果检测结果呈阳性,则可以远离其他可能传播病毒并导致该公司更多病假和生产力损失的人。

因此,这对我们的公共卫生工作来说是糟糕的一天。但我们仍然有一些好消息。拜登政府已经购买了超过 5 亿份测试。他们正在努力每月提供 3 亿美元。我们在这里看到的健康与人类服务部和美国农业部也有这些试点计划,他们正在对进入脆弱社区的人们进行测试。

如果您的食物不安全,那么您的免疫系统可能较弱,因此您的病情会更严重。您也更有可能生活在资源匮乏的环境中,您无法进入,您的家庭空间不足以防止感染和隔离,无法与其他家庭成员隔离。

因此,这是一个非常高风险的弱势群体。而且我认为它非常聪明。试点计划正在发挥作用。这个组织 FIND Food Bank 在 Debbie Espinosa 的领导下,已经分发了 50,000 个测试。今天,他们将在科切拉谷的棕榈泉向家庭分发 800 多项测试——测试套件。

Translate

MSNBC’s The Reidout Interviews Congressman Ruiz About FIND’s COVID-19 Testing Kit Distribution

January 17 | Featured

Transcript: The ReidOut, 1/13/22

 

Guests: Maria Teresa Kumar, Ari Berman, Raul Ruiz

Let’s bring in Congressman and physician Raul Ruiz of California, who`s joining us from the Palm Springs Convention Center, where he`s helping the FIND Food Bank distribute COVID-19 antigen test. Also with us is former acting U.S. Solicitor General Neal Katyal.

[19:35:04]

And thank you both for being here.

And, Congressman Ruiz, I want to start with you.

And thank you for what you’re doing. I love that you are helping to actually get tests, because that’s what people so desperately need.

But, just as a physician, as somebody who is out there trying to represent the people and help them, what do you make of the Supreme Court doing away with this mandate?

REP. RAUL RUIZ (D-CA): It doesn’t make sense.

And in a public health perspective, it only hurts us. It is only good for our public’s health and for the large corporations, businesses to keep their employees safe. And they can do so by either ensuring that they get vaccinated or that they get tested and, if they’re positive, to stay away from other individuals that can also spread the virus and cause more sick days and loss of productivity for that company.

So it is a bad day for our public health efforts. But we still have some good news. The Biden administration has purchased over 500 million tests. They’re on their way to providing 300 million a month. We also have these pilot programs with the Health and Human Services and USDA that we see here, where they’re taking the test to the people into the communities that are vulnerable.

If you’re food-insecure, then your immune system is probably weaker, and, therefore, you will get more severely sick. You also more likely live in resource-poor settings, where you have lack of access, lack of space in your household to prevent from getting infected and quarantining, being able to quarantine away from other family members.

And, therefore, this is a very high-risk, vulnerable population. And I think it’s very smart. And the pilot program is working. This organization FIND Food Bank, under the leadership of Debbie Espinosa, has already distributed 50,000 tests. Today, they’re going to distribute over 800 tests — testing kits to household right here in Palm Springs in the Coachella Valley.