Перевести

FIND Food Bank сотрудничает с пустынными городами и предприятиями в Месяце действий против голода

15 сентября | Рекомендуемые

Уинстон Гизеке Палм-Спрингс Desert Sun

The City of Indio kicked off Hunger Action Month with a staff-wide volunteer event at FIND’s warehouse. Volunteers included Mayor Elaine Holmes, several city councilmembers, City Manager Bryan Montgomery and other city employees.
Город Индио открыл Месяц действий против голода с волонтерской акции для всех сотрудников на складе FIND. Среди добровольцев были мэр Элейн Холмс, несколько членов городского совета, городской менеджер Брайан Монтгомери и другие городские служащие.

Сентябрь Месяц голодных действий, во время которого на основе Indio НАЙТИ (Продовольствие, нуждающееся в распределении) Продовольственный банк объединит усилия с Кормление Америки и 200 сетевых продовольственных банков, чтобы вдохновить людей на действия и повысить осведомленность местных жителей, сталкивающихся с проблемой отсутствия продовольственной безопасности.

Голод остается на критическом уровне по всей Калифорнии, что является результатом продолжительной безработицы, рекордной аномальной жары и, для многих, прекращения выплаты пособий по безработице. FIND взаимодействует с общественностью посредством сбора средств и информационных мероприятий, чтобы ни один из местных жителей не остался голодным во время продолжающихся усилий по восстановлению.

«Месяц голодных действий делает несколько вещей», - сказал Дебби Эспиноза, Генеральный директор FIND Food Bank. «Во-первых, это привлекает внимание наших более крупных сообществ к проблеме отсутствия продовольственной безопасности и ее влиянию на людей. Он также отмечает многих людей, работающих в секторе отсутствия продовольственной безопасности, за их работу и услуги. Все наши агентства, агентства-партнеры и местные предприятия, которые вносят свой вклад и поддерживают, чтобы люди знали, где они будут в следующий раз поесть - Месяц голодных действий отмечает их и их работу, при этом убеждаясь, что люди осведомлены о проблемах отсутствия продовольственной безопасности, которые мы борются ежедневно как сообщества и как отдельные лица ».

Между тем национальная кампания «Накормить Америку» подчеркивает невозможный выбор, который миллионы американцев вынуждены делать между едой и другими основными потребностями, такими как жилье, медицинское обслуживание, электричество и уход за детьми.

«Многие люди в наших линиях питания или получающие еду от наших партнерских агентств по распределению - это люди, которые работают, но все еще изо всех сил пытаются свести концы с концами, потому что рынок труда и экономика не улучшились до того уровня, который был до пандемии, - сказал Эспиноза.

Three locals help promote donations, volunteerism and advocacy with FIND Food Bank for Hunger Action Month at Grounded Bodyworks Palm Springs Summer Market, Sept. 2, 2021.
Три местных жителя помогают продвигать пожертвования, волонтерство и пропаганду в рамках Месяца голодных действий FIND Food Bank на летнем рынке Палм-Спрингс, 2 сентября 2021 г.

В течение сентября предприятия, городские власти и частные лица в долине Коачелла и Хай-Дезерте могут принять участие в движении, делая пожертвования, участвуя в волонтерской деятельности, обучаясь и рассказывая о способах покончить с голодом.

Местные рестораны, отели, магазины розничной торговли и развлекательные заведения в долине Коачелла и в High Desert, демонстрирующие поддержку усилий FIND Food Bank по оказанию помощи голодающим, включают: Ace Hotel & Swim Club, Палм-Спрингс; Винный магазин пустыни, Пальмовая пустыня; Ресторан и лаундж Eight4Nine, Палм-Спрингс; Гриль-А-Бургер, Пальмовая пустыня; Заземленный кузов, Палм-Спрингс; Кайзер Решетка, Пальмовая пустыня; Отель Kimpton Rowan, Палм-Спрингс; Отель Пасео, Пальмовая пустыня; Жизнь и временаПионертаун МотельСалон Red Dog, ПионертаунPS Подземный, Палм-Спрингс и РД РННР, Ла Кинта.

«Мы вносили вклад в FIND Food Bank так часто, как только могли, за последние несколько лет», - сказал Вилли Рейн, совладелец Eight4Nine. "Когда Кайлин (Салливан, Координатор FIND по связям с общественностью) обратился ко мне по поводу Месяца голодных действий, я увидел прекрасную возможность поучаствовать. 1 сентября исполнилось шесть лет, поэтому пожертвование доходов от коктейля Eight4Nine было идеальным коктейлем ».

FIND Food Bank CEO Debbie Espinosa poses in front of bags of food in Indio, Calif., that will be distributed to help those affected by the coronavirus outbreak on Monday, March 23, 2020.
Генеральный директор FIND Food Bank Дебби Эспиноза позирует перед пакетами с едой в Индио, штат Калифорния, которые будут распределены, чтобы помочь пострадавшим от вспышки коронавируса в понедельник, 23 марта 2020 года. Вики Конор / Солнце пустыни

Translate

FIND Food Bank partners with desert cities, businesses for Hunger Action Month

September 15 | Featured

Winston Gieseke Palm Springs Desert Sun

The City of Indio kicked off Hunger Action Month with a staff-wide volunteer event at FIND’s warehouse. Volunteers included Mayor Elaine Holmes, several city councilmembers, City Manager Bryan Montgomery and other city employees.
The CIty of Indio kicked off Hunger Action Month with a staff-wide volunteer event at FIND’s warehouse. Volunteers included Mayor Elaine Holmes, several city councilmembers, City Manager Bryan Montgomery and other city employees.

September is Hunger Action Month, during which Indio-based FIND (Food in Need of Distribution) Food Bank will join forces with Feeding America and 200 network food banks to inspire people to take action and raise awareness of locals facing food insecurity.

Hunger remains at critical levels throughout California, the results of prolonged unemployment, record heat waves and, for many, the end of unemployment benefits. FIND is engaging with the public through fundraising and awareness events to leave no local hungry during the ongoing recovery efforts.

“Hunger Action Month does a couple of things,” said Debbie Espinosa, FIND Food Bank’s CEO. “One, it calls the attention to our larger communities about food insecurity and the effects it has on people. It also celebrates many of the people who work in the food insecurity sector for the work and service they provide. All of our agencies, our partner agencies and the local businesses that contribute and support to ensure that people know where their next meal is coming from — Hunger Action Month celebrates them and their work while making sure people are aware of the food insecurity issues that we struggle through on a daily basis as communities and as individuals.”

Feeding America’s national campaign, meanwhile, highlights the impossible choices that millions of Americans are forced to make between food and other basic needs, like housing, medical care, electricity and childcare.

“A lot of the people in our food lines or receiving food from our partner distribution agencies are people who are working but still really struggling to make ends meet because the job market and the economy have not improved to where we were pre-pandemic levels,” said Espinosa.

Three locals help promote donations, volunteerism and advocacy with FIND Food Bank for Hunger Action Month at Grounded Bodyworks Palm Springs Summer Market, Sept. 2, 2021.
Three locals help promote donations, volunteerism, and advocacy with FIND Food Bank for Hunger Action Month at Grounded Bodyworks Palm Springs Summer Market, Sept 2, 2021

During the month of September, businesses, city governments and individuals across the Coachella Valley and Hi-Desert can get involved in the movement by donating, volunteering, learning, and speaking up about ways to end hunger.

Local restaurants, hotels, retail stores and entertainment venues across the Coachella Valley and the High Desert showing support for FIND Food Bank’s hunger relief efforts include Ace Hotel & Swim Club, Palm Springs; Desert Wine Shop, Palm Desert; Eight4Nine Restaurant & Lounge, Palm Springs; Grill-A-Burger, Palm Desert; Grounded Bodyworks, Palm Springs; Kaiser Grille, Palm Desert; Kimpton Rowan Hotel, Palm Springs; Hotel Paseo, Palm Desert; Life & TimesPioneertown MotelRed Dog Saloon, PioneertownPS Underground, Palm Springs, and RD RNNR, La Quinta.

“We have contributed to FIND Food Bank as often as we can over the past several years,” said Willie Rhine, co-owner of Eight4Nine. “When Kayleen (Sullivan, FIND’s community relations coordinator) reached out to me regarding Hunger Action Month, I saw a great opportunity to participate. Sept. 1 was our sixth anniversary, so donating proceeds from the Eight4Nine cocktail was the perfect cocktail to select.”

FIND Food Bank CEO Debbie Espinosa poses in front of bags of food in Indio, Calif., that will be distributed to help those affected by the coronavirus outbreak on Monday, March 23, 2020.
FIND Food Bank CEO Debbie Espinosa poses in front of bags of food in Indio, Calif, that will be distributed to help those affected by the coronavirus outbreak on Monday, March 23, 2020. Vickie Conor/The Desert Sun